Easy-Bake Overn Region

CLICK HERE TO VOTE IN OPENING ROUND

This region will be anything but easy to get through. In fact, it will most likely be a slugfest, especially with 3 of the top 4 seeds being solid cartoons. Double Dare and Wild & Crazy Kids, at the 5 and 6 seeds, are nothing to sneeze at either. And Animorphs at least has brand recognition going for it.

Picks, go!

(1) Rocko’s Modern Life vs (8) Animorphs

Analysis: I’ve spent quite a bit of time watching clips on Youtube for most of these shows so that I could jog my memory. And I’ve gone on to learn that most of them LOVED to pack in a good innuendo. Perhaps none more so than Rocko’s Modern Life.

I kind of just want to slow clap after watching that vid. Anyway, all of the characters in Rocko’s Modern Life are animals. That tidbit alone is enough to knock out a show where the entire premise revolves around kids turning into animals.

Winner: (1) Rocko’s Modern Life

(4) Aaahh!!! Real Monsters vs. (5) Double Dare

Analysis: If we were having a conversation about something I just watched and I told you the synopsis was something like: 3 young friends; one brave, one smart, and one goofball, must navigate their lives in a prestigious secret school under the tutelage of an oppressive teacher; you’d think I was talking about Harry Potter, right? RIGHT?

WRONG.

I just explained the general plot of Aaahh!!! Real Monsters to you. And that’s why this show was awesome.

On a more terrifying note. I’m pretty sure when Krumm grew up.

He turned into the freakiest monster in Pan’s Labyrinth, which I am too terrified of to post, so just I’ll just link you to it, ok? Say goodbye to sleeping at night.

As far as Double Dare goes, it was the archetypal family game show. Trivia, challenges, and…people getting slime dumped on them. Interestingly, “slime” itself would become ubiquitous with Nickelodeon for years to come. Branding, you guys, it’s important. But not even a heaping dose of Marc Summers can save this show from what lies beneath.

Winner: (4) Aaahh!!! Real Monsters

(3) Rugrats vs (6) Wild & Crazy Kids

Analysis: As an almost-adult, Wild & Crazy Kids is now a horrifying concept to me. Round up a large amount of children, rile them up with pixie-stix, and have them run amok in public places completing challenges, like “who can vandalize this store THE FASTEST!” or “Try not to spill this pitcher of juice from this rollercoaster”. Okay, I’m just riffing, but that’s pretty much the premise of the show from what I can recall.

It’s interesting that it’s going up the against the original wild & crazy kids, The Rugrats. Classic antics aside, who didn’t want to know what a Reptar Bar tasted like?

Winner: (3) Rugrats

(2) The Adventures of Pete & Pete vs. My Brother and Me

Analysis: Perhaps the most misunderstood and under the radar show in all of Nickelodeon. The Adventures of Pete and Pete was its generations 30 Rock. I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of how to explain what Pete and Pete was. The best I can come up with is that it was Wonder Years dressed up as a comedy. And come to think of it, this also might be the only, and last show, to prominently star two redheads. That has to count for something.

I have no recollection of My Brother and Me, which pretty much seals its fate.

Winner: (2) The Adventures of Pete and Pete

Regional Champion Prediction: (2) The Adventures of Pete and Pete

Bracket Buster: none

