I’ve been thinking about this past year of blogging quite a bit lately, but posts by 2 of my favo(u)rite bloggers got me thinking about THE FUTURE as well.

I started Second Lunch at the very beginning of 2012 because I wanted to make some noise on the internetz and I realized that drawing and writing things would be way more fun than applying to grad schools.

But by the end of February, my pageviews were clearly displaying a downward trend, even though I had significantly increased the hours I was putting into creating content. I was kind of kicking myself, because I had made the decision to purchase a domain (along with a premium theme) and to blog for an entire year, regardless of what my readership or pageview count looked like. And even though all signs indicated that Second Lunch would be another failed attempt at trying to build something, I took a moment and thought to myself, Tim, this really is the BEST hobby, you don’t even need pants for it AND you can drink at the same time, so keep going. And so I activated tunnel vision mode and went on making content…

Yesterday, Second Lunch eclipsed 100,000 pageviews and will somehow end the year by having successfully tricked the Freshly Pressed editors on 3 separate occasions. It’s something I can’t fully wrap my head around–partially due to my heads inability to literally wrap around things–but I am fully capable of seeing just how much the WordPress community has helped me in achieving those milestones. It would be a mistake to rest on those personal achievements and attempt to recreate this past years success by playing it safe and rehashing the same things over and over. I need to be challenging myself to get better at this whole blogging thing.

So let’s look ahead.

How I hope 2013 will play out:

-More illustrated personal stories

-A 9% increase in fart jokes (Gotta get that younger demographic)

-Experimenting, by incorporating my style into different mediums <– What I’m most excited about.

-Finding a way to be more insightful and helpful to bloggers (especially new ones) without turning into a blog about blogging.

-Moar Shorts and other one-off comics

-Less blog updates counting as my weekly posts (…hopefully)

-Doing more collaborations / other work away from my own blog:

  • If you have an idea for something, please email the living daylights out of me > RIGHT HERE!  This little illustration contest I did with another favorite blogger all started from a simple email exchange.

-Being a better blogger:

  • It takes me a long time to search the internet for all of these illustrations and then steal them for my blog. But I’m getting much better at stealing, so I’d like to get a lot better at spending time on some non-content stuff, like networking and communicating with you guys. And I’d really like to get better at doing all of that through Twitter, Facebook, or you own blogs.

But in all honesty, I have no idea where Second Lunch goes. For the foreseeable future, I will keep making things, regardless of whether Second Lunch has another 1,000 pageviews or 100,000 in it. Because the only thing I ever wanted out of this blog was the satisfaction of making things people enjoyed and could connect with, even if just for a few minutes. I got all of that and so much more.

Thank you for finding me,

Tim

_________________________________________________________________

Okay, enough about me. What are you serving up in 2013? TELL ME.

35 Responses to “Blog to The Future”

  1. free penny press

    I say it should be 11% more fart posts :-)
    High five on the big 100,00.. I can’t believe I have 50,00 footprints in 6 months.. but my blog is in desperate need of direction.. I’m thinking;-)

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      High five back at ya, Lynne. I hope you find some direction, I certainly know that feeling all to well. Hopefully a new cam will help with that :P

      Like

      Reply
  2. becca3416

    Sounds like you have a great plan Tim. I haven’t even thought about what my goals for next year are yet.

    First I find out you are a gamer, and now an Back to the Future reference? Awesome overload!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Betty Huffman

    I’m fairly new to Word Press, and I just found your blog this last week as I was going through Freshly Pressed. I’m enjoying your blog (present one and many of your past ones), and Ilook forward to your future ones in 2013.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Hi, Betty. Welcome to WordPress, I think you’ll like the community around here. I hope 2013 is a good blog and non-blog year for you!

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      Incase of there is no 2013, my hopes for Second Lunch become null and void and is solely replaced by “KILL ZOMBIES!”

      Like

      Reply
  4. hashimeansbridge

    Congratulations!!
    I love your illustrations and sense of humor.
    Amazing that it’s only been less than a year. I just started about 5 weeks ago and I think I’m hitting that downward bit, so I’m a little less worried after hearing your story.
    Keep up the awesome blogging!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. kasturika

    Great going! Looking forward to the next year :)

    As for me, I have no idea what I’ll be doing even next week, let alone next year :D
    Hopefully, in the time to come, I’ll ‘Find myself’ :P

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Finding yourself and your voice is one of the best parts about blogging. Hope you find out a little bit more in 2013!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Rocket

    :O Congrats and stuff! I know I always look forward to your posts. By the way, fart jokes will get me every time (YEAH WORLD, I AM NOT ASHAMED TAKE IT!) so definitely keep that up!

    Like

    Reply
  7. gingermermaid

    Congrats, man. That’s awesome! Getting your blog in my WP reader brightens up my day and assists in detouring me from my work at hand, and for this, I am forever grateful. Keep ’em coming! You’re my gateway drug into the blogosphere!

    Like

    Reply
  8. oakritchie

    I believe in you, Tim, and have a similar goal. Keep truckin’, and keep us updated on how it’s going.

    I’m presently getting things on my blog moving to a wordpress.org account, which is pretty scary. I feel all isolated, no community tab, no “freshly pressed” to hope for…I hope it’s a worthy shift…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Jen and Tonic

    Holy crapballs, 100k views? You internet rockstar.

    I’m a little disappointed that an illustrated picture of your Big Little Timmer isn’t on the list.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Lady Canyonero

    Wait…we’re supposed to have goals for our blogs? Way to make the rest of us look like unmotivated slackers. Sigh. (I’ll still read your blog in 2013 though.)

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Nah! The best part about blogging is that you can do whatever you want. My goals are just reminders for things I want to try out on my blog in the future. Keeps me focused.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Ericka Clay

    I love that you’re keeping it real. If I had that many page views I’d be wearing a mink coat I can’t afford and making everyone call me Dr. Ericka. Actually, I do that anyways but whatever. And this —> “A 9% increase in fart jokes” automatically means I’m going to be your biggest fan in 2013.

    Like

    Reply
  12. wol149

    A collab you say?
    How would you like to contribute in an ultra-collaboration blog?
    We’re tryna get as many people to write on the same blog, as possible.
    It’s a relatively new blog, couple of weeks old, but we’re doing pretty well…
    So what d’ya say?

    Like

    Reply

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

