A few weeks ago, the first two people in my circle of friends got married, in fact, they were the bride and groom. It was a backyard wedding in a quaint New England town where most of us are from. And since I’m still on an illustration hiatus, I wanted to write a quick little recap, but I wanted to write it in a way that was respectful of everyone’s privacy. So, I’ve decided to recap a minute-by-minute account of my internal monologue of 2 completely different parts of the big day. I think this recap will nicely capture for you guys what my (at times neurotic) inner voice typically sounds like.

Part 1: The Struggle

Minute 1: What should I wear to a semi-formal backyard wedding?

Minute 2: WAIT, WHAT HELL DO I WEAR TO A SEMI-FORMAL BACKYARD WEDDING? This is literally like answering ‘maybe’ to a yes or no question

Minute 3: Ok, well I’ll just go with this tie, a white shirt, and this pair of khakis.

Minute 4: Wait a second. You look like a caterer.

Minute 5: …A damn good looking one at that.

Minute 6: Seriously, though, you look like a caterer. Maybe something blue?

Minute 7: I change fast.

Minute 8: Yes, a blue dress shirt will work. Now let’s get that tie on!

Minute 9: Hmm, too long.

Minute 10: Still too long.

Minute 11: Way too short and somehow backwards.

Minute 12: Perfect, now just pull the knot up a litt…*cuts off air-supply

Minute 13: aaaand crisis averted!

Minute 14: Alright, let’s get this show on the road.

Part 2: Remember to Stretch

Minute 1: Ok, this looks like a nice place to setup shop. Now, just ease into it, Tim. Don’t bring out the big guns just yet.

Minute 2: Just sip some beer, find the beat, and keep this slight head bobbing motion going.

Minute 3: Where are all my friends and why are they not on the dance floor?

Minute 4: Upgrade to big gulps of beer until something happens.

Minute 5: Hey, why are the older people taking over the dance floor?

Minute 6: Why, yes, person of similar age, I would like to dance.

Minute 7: Ask whom she knows at this wedding

Minute 8: Brain, think of a witty remark

Minute 9: Ask what she does

Minute 10: Brain, think of a witty and sincere remark

Minute 11: Ask where she is from

Minute 12: Brain, think of a surprised remark that highlights the disparity in distances traveled–relative to you and her–for this wedding

Minute 13: Twirl

Minute 14: Wait, why am I the one twirling?

Minute 15: TWIRLING IS FUN. You should do another one.

Minute 16: Oops, I already forgot your name.

Minute 17: Tim, you should do a much better job of remembering names.

Minute 18: Wait, what was the name of that song you wanted to download earlier?

Minute 19: Friends located! Wave them over.

Minute 20: Commence dance party.

Minute 21: Pop

Minute 22: And

Minute 23 TOUNGE TIED! (Song you wanted to download)

Minute 24: Lock

Minute 25: Dance. Battle. Who wants some?

Minute 26: Try not to lose anymore dance battles to the flower girl tonight D:

Minute 27: Alright, Tim, it’s all drink, dance, repeat from here on out. Godspeed.

Bonus content 

A “How To” featuring an out of focus, blurry, slightly less illustrated picture of me from the wedding

17 Responses to “Talking to Myself”

  1. postmoderngirls;

    It to you nearly a half hour of internal monologue to get to a Dance Battle? Dude.

    Also, also good call on the blue and khakis- the white would’ve looked exactly like my school uniform.. and those were not nice.

    Like

    Reply
    • postmoderngirls;

      took*

      Also, I wasn’t done yet.

      I had a mini-meltdown yesterday when I realised just how many people I went to school/university with are married/engaged/have babies/are pregnant. I will *actually* make a wedding in May next year, and I don’t know how I’m going to cope with all this ~adulthood around me.

      Like

      Reply
      • timmer

        I’ve been having those same meltdowns as well. All that stuff is great, but I’m too selfish right now and I want to keep doing things for me.

        Like

  2. rondiedoo

    Hahaha, I love this! It’s an accurate depiction of what I would say goes on through my head during weddings, wedding showers, baby showers, etc. It is so weird seeing all of the people I once went to high school with getting married and/or having children. I do enjoy weddings but I tend to go through a similar process in my head, unless I know someone there other than the groom and/or bride.

    By the way, Tongue Tied is awesome sauce! I think they are worth doing the pop-and-lock while listening to. I wish the “running man” was still cool, ahha. There are a lot of songs that I would love to do that to. Great post, dude!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Thanks! My thoughts always seem to be going a mile a minute and randomly bounce from topic to topic. It’s just how me brain works I guess. Oh, and the running man is still cool because I definitely recall unleashing it at the wedding.

      Like

      Reply
  3. becca3416

    That picture looks like you are actively in the “lock” position of the pop-lock-drop. But that is just my professional dancer (okay retired dancer) opinion.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I am definitely in ‘lock” position. It’s what I excel at, so I skew more towards ‘locking’ instead of ‘popping.’ It’s probably something like 60:40, which is really counter-intuitive, since dancing requires some sort of kinetic motion rather than just stationary positioning. Ok, that was kinda ramble-y reply, but one can never be to specific in terms of “Pop n’ Lock.’ right?

      Like

      Reply
      • becca3416

        Totally right. We won’t even get in to the technicalities of more complex dance moves such as the ever elusive “burnie”.

        Like

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

