Update: This post is behaving oddly for some reason. Illustrations aren’t displaying correctly. I’ll figure it out later, but there should be 4 illustrations below. I’m assuming it’s just too awesome / sexy for WordPress to handle.

A few months ago, I caught up to my content buffer. I think some of you guys that run your own blogs know what I’m talking about, but if not, just think of the buffer as a type of content safety net. Without this net I’m forced to work on smaller projects, which I really like doing, but I also really really really want to find time to work on the longer projects for Second Lunch that I’ve been putting off. And sometimes I just want to watch a ton of TV (Community, anyone?), and play videogames, and read books, and hangout with my friends. I want to do all of that stuff I just said and still be able to give you guys something to look at or read every Monday. So, for this week, I’m going back into my way back machine again and I’m pulling out some illustrations pre-Second Lunch. I’m doing this in hopes of being able to rebuild a decent content buffer and not have to worry so much about getting content out there. So I’ll show you some old stuff this week so I can work on some new stuff for the coming weeks, ok?

Anyway, about the old stuff. I started drawing birds last year to try and figure out a way to cartoonize (ok, spell check is saying ‘cartoonize’ isn’t a word, but the sheer fact that Who Framed Roger Rabbit exists, makes me want to scream ‘BS’)  them to my style and I ended up with these things below that are supposedly birds? I don’t know. I think they look more like penguins. Well this all somehow turned into a few sarcastic greeting card thingy-ma-jigs pictured below.

One last thing, I’m interested in what you guys have to say about content buffers. Do you just write and publish? or do you have a stockpile of content just waiting to be unleashed onto the blogosphere?

37 Responses to “Blast From The Past Vol 2”

  1. Svelte

    LOL! The last card is a riot! Strangely, your birds remind me of the ones on “Third and Bird”.

    The “buffer” is always handy in emergencies like uhm…Summer!!! I’ve noticed that blogging,gaming and online activity in general tend to dwindle around then…(At least with moi.)

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Can’t say I’ve heard of “Third and Bird’ but now I”m interested in looking them up. Oh, it has been much harder to create stuff with summer around. Luckily, I’ve got an outdoor desk on my back porch which lets me make stuff outside. Win Win!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Samuel

    Content buffer is what I tried to do more of but I always find myself on the computer. But for other bloggers, if it’s new to me, then I don’t mind if it’s buffered or not

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Exactly, my goal is to take a week and make a ton of stuff that I can just set a schedule for and then have time to work on other stuff. So it’d be old me for, but new for you guys. Too bad this is really easy to talk about but really hard to execute. Oh well.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Margarita

    My main blog is a daily post that is a result of a quiet contemplation. I’ve started sharing another blog that will have more words. That one is not a daily post because it takes me a while to clearly formulate and communicate the concepts. So, I suppose that’s my way of handling the buffer issue…I really enjoy your take on stuff. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Margarita, I’ve always been envious of people that can write really well in one sitting and quickly. It usually takes me a few tries to get something finished and most of the time it’s not anywhere near perfect. But I guess with practice I could get better at it. Like eating fruit snacks. I’m awesome at eating fruit snacks because I’ve had a ton of practice.

      Like

      Reply
      • Margarita

        That’s the idea! I, too, feel I should be able to express my flashes of brilliance in one sitting and am always a little nonplussed when my husband and daughter, my most loving critics, make me work at it! Have fun! :)

        Like

  4. Jennie

    I keep trying to create a buffer, but then I get super excited about posts and they end up being posted sooner than intended

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      That’s one of my biggest obstacles with a buffer. I want to post it immediately. I’m gonna have to work somewhere with no internet connection for like a week so I can resist the urge to post stuff. I feel like a really nice beach should do the trick.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Nicolle

    I think you’re birds are cute.

    I used to actually schedule my posts ahead of time. That way, I could just write and not worrying about publishing immediately, and my content would be published at the same time each week.

    But somehow I never managed to stick to a schedule and I’ve ended up with 28 potential posts (6 of which I hope to publish this week – maybe) in my drafts folder. Some of them are dishes I made that I can no longer remember the exact ingredients I used and others are unfinished thoughts and book reviews.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Typo excused! I’m awful with things like that anyways, so I’m in no place to call anyone out.

      I also seem to have a bunch of potential posts. Little ideas that haven’t fully, or may never, become something. Curious, do you put your ideas down only through a computer or is there another creative process you use as well?

      Like

      Reply
      • Nicolle

        Well, for the recipes I’ve already made I just write those directly into a draft within wordpress.

        But, for ideas in general, I always have a notebook with me (or at least something to write on…my day timer forever has loose pieces of paper slipping out of it) or I’ll use my phone if I think of it, to jot things down or plan them out. I find I do prefer to use actual pen and paper as opposed to something digital.

        Sometimes, I’ll draw something similar to a mind map, sometimes a list…it really just depends on the idea.

        Like

      • timmer

        Cool. I think I always have something to write down on with me at all times. I get inspired by random things away from my computer all the time

        Like

  6. Danielle

    Sometimes I use drafts. For example, if I’m participating in a weekly meme where the topic doesn’t change, just my answer, I may prepare it a few days in advance. Or if I’m working on a book review, I may keep a draft with notes about things I want to mention in the review and then will go back and edit when it’s time to write the actual review. But often, I do write then publish.

    Like

    Reply
  7. timmer

    Yes! I did notice you participate in the weekly meme. Any recommendations for good reads at the beach?

    Like

    Reply
  8. dianasschwenk

    not sure what content buffer is but in the past I would have a couple or three drafts ready to go but the moment i published one, the others remained stuck on that date. (when i published them even after resaving they had the old date. make sense? so now i only have one draft going at a time and keep the others in word documents…Grrrrrrr

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      haha, I realized earlier today that I probably didn’t convey ‘content buffer’ how I wanted to. It’s essentially just having a bunch of unpublished content that’s ready to be released. I used to have enough content to be a few weeks ahead (since I post something every monday) so when I made something new it wouldn’t be published for at least a few weeks. But now I’ve caught up to my buffer so everything I make gets released next day. Hope that clarified it a little more, Diana!

      Hmm as to your problem that’s odd. I don’t often save drafts within WordPress and typically do most of my writing in word documents. I find it even more productive when I don’t write with wifi connected. I can focus more that way.

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      Thanks! And I have a hard time fighting that urge to publish immediately as well. Besides posting every monday I’ll sneak a post in on some other random day of the week to quell that impulsivity. I call it ‘ninja blogging’

      Like

      Reply
  9. Ruchika

    Ya, there is some problem with the blog- the illustrations come half way and then not at all- I dont know much but do you think the alignment of the =m all has gone faulty? they seem to be overlapping. But I went through Reader and saw them all and must say- there are sooo prettttyyyy!!!!! I love them.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Thanks! I’ll have to take a closer look later on this illustrations. Was is just this blog or other entries as well? Because unfortunately they all appear fine from my computer.

      Like

      Reply
  10. postmoderngirls;

    I blog when I have something to say. I usually think, ‘Oh, that would be cool to blog about’ or something pops into my head and won’t go away and then I’ll blog- so I have content buffer in that sense. I don’t draft posts or stock up on ideas/pieces so I’ll always have content though. Perhaps I should be more organised/dedicated to my blog than I currently am.

    I like that you called it ‘projects’. I like that. It makes it more… constructive?

    I like those birds. I’m seriously considering printing one for my new room.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I’v always enjoyed project type of work the most. So, I guess I do approach most of the content on the site as completing project.

      And, yes, do print out some or any illustrations. I’m curious as to how they would come out. And where are you know? South Africa?

      Like

      Reply
      • postmoderngirls;

        I’ll take a photo when I do. You might consider setting up shop (seriously) with your illustrations :)

        And yes. In cold, wintery Cape Town.

        x

        Like

  11. becca3416

    I quite like the birds. I especially liked go big or go H.A.M. Can I use that in conversation with my friends and pretend I am funny?

    Like

    Reply
  12. free penny press

    Another witty set I see.. #2 cracked me up..
    You really have some bad-ass talent!!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      My creativity was repressed for a very long time, but now I’m kicking ass and takin’ names! Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
  13. Ritika (@ZeCountess)

    It is so hard to find people who like watching Community! :O
    Content buffer is always convenient lest your brain cow falls flat, me thinks.
    i just always wanted to say me thinks!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Arsonette Artworks

    I keep meaning to create a content buffer but never seem to have one! Or at least it never lasts very long, it’s really sucked recently where I forgot to build one up whilst moving and then being internet free. And I agree with the Community love by the way! XD

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Content buffers are amazing. I’m currently on an illustration hiatus until the end of August as I try and build mine back up! Cool Cool Cool.

      Like

      Reply

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

