I hate it when I find a blog I really like, but trying to sift through the archive system for more blog goodness is harder than trying to put a top hat on that stray cat that scampers around the front steps of your apartment (sigh, someday). So, I’ve decided to build an archive page to alleviate this problem on my own blog. If you look at the upper-right menu, you’ll see a “Leftover” tab, click it and you’ll have easy access to all of my old blog posts. There’s all kinds of neat stuff in there, like a Yeti, a purple block that only communicates through emoticons / punctuation symbols, and quite a few heavily illustrated stories about my childhood.  If you’re on the fence about checking it out, would it help knowing that all posts now have 5x the humor and only half the calories of the name brand competitors?

Blog Note / Thank You Note / Me being semi-serious Note:

 

You guys, ‘Thank you’ doesn’t even begin to explain all the gratitude I have for each and every one of you that ‘liked’, commented, or followed. If I were able to comment back on all the comments I would. But you guys left so many awesome ones that I can’t adequately answer them all and at the same time be able to create content for you guys here on Second Lunch (an AMAZING problem to have). Just know that I read them all! And holy crap do some of you have some real horror stories about roommates. If anyone is keeping score at home, I have shades of The Ghost, with mood swings between The Cleaner and The Slob. Anyway, I promise going forward I’ll be able to engage in a better dialogue with you.

Six seasons and a movie,

Tim

29 Responses to “Leftovers”

  1. Wandering Voiceless

    Hahaha… I didn’t even add a comment to 5 Types of Roommates cuz there were already so many… but trust me, I read it! Your archive is a great idea. Thanks! (And for the record, we are long past college, but have two roommates… thankfully, they are none of the 5 now, but we suffered through 3 of the 5 in the past… you certainly nailed the types!)

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Well, I’m glad you commented on this one then! I’m usually pretty good at getting back to comments, but this time I would have taken me days.

      I hope the 3 out of the 5 were all at different times!

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      Thanks, Renard. Stick around, I think you’ll come to see posts like this are the norm around here!

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      Right? The WordPress archives are so clunky and frustrating to use. You should definitely make an archive page! Not hard at all.

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      You know it, Adam. Except for the time being, the “Imaginarium” is currently being used for NBA playoffs.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Svelte

    Forget the menu! I’m having troubles with the Reader… Like no notification of this here post…till now!!! :O

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      It’s because I post new blogs like a NINJA! But on a serious note, I have no idea why there would be problems, haha.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jen and Tonic

    Seriously, congrats again on your Freshly Pressed status. Am I going to have to start going through your publicist to talk to you?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nicolle

    I completely agree. Navigating archives can be frustrating.

    I’ve done something similar for my recipes and even broke them up into categories.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      It’s terrible on WordPress. So frustrating.

      Also, did you do a redesign on your blog recently(see: I’m terrible at keeping up with everyone)? It looks great!

      Like

      Reply
      • Nicolle

        Well slightly. I’ve changed some widgets around and I finally got back into Photoshop and created a basic header that reflects my blog more.

        But, my background somehow disappeared and WP is looking into that, so it doesn’t look as it should.
        I have been toying with the idea of going for a completely new theme (I tend to get bored after a while), or just creating a custom background…haven’t decided yet.

        Thanks for noticing :-)

        Like

  5. thelonemusketeer

    Aha…so nice of you to share the problems you encounter…mine is a new blog so hopefully i can start maintaining archives from the very beginning….and thank you for the thank you note…:)

    Like

    Reply
  6. wol149

    For the Leftovers page, did you have to link each post to the archive, individually? Or is there a quick way?

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Haha, I wish I could take credit for the idea, but I’ve taken it from other bloggers.

      And thanks for the award! I’ll have to check it out.

      Like

      Reply
      • d_vaz

        Oh well, you still did it better, since you have illustrations to accompany you’re implementing the idea.

        Like

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

