Hey guys, I was working on / brainstorming projects for the blog when I was hit by a teensy tornado of inspiration and felt compelled to turn that energy into a short post instead of channeling it into something productive like cleaning my room or doing laundry (ugh, I know right?)…

I wish I could take a picture of my living room right now and send it back in time to my younger self. People are always talking about how they would drop little butt nuggets of wisdom on their younger self. While I think that is a charming idea, I would have to lean towards not doing this. I think it is important to learn things on ones own, unless it’s something like losing the sense of taste because you just had to try battery acid, then by all means, warn yourself.  But, really, I just think it would be hilarious to torture my younger self with pictures of me eating ice cream for breakfast at 26 years of age.

As I was saying though, I wish I could take a picture of my living room right now, BECAUSE IT IS LITTERED WITH GIANT CARDBOARD BOXES. The 5 year old version of me would go ape shit at the site of this picture. That’s because I quickly learned at a young age that imagining things (and picking my nose) was kinda right in my wheelhouse and I would end up spending hours thinking up different scenarios in giant boxes.

For some reason I always imagined a tank and would proceed to conquer my house.

But my absolute favorite was imaging the box to be a modest sized home. Nothing too flashy and not too much of a fixer upper. I would end up spending so much time in my “home” that I would eat my meals and sleep in there until my parents realized they were probably perpetuating a life of living in cardboard boxes and quickly disposed of the box.

Over time though, a negative correlation between “cardboard boxes” and “imagination potential” starts to emerge. By the time you hit 25, the sight of an empty cardboard box can easily be found within your top 10 pet peeves list. Now I see all these boxes and I’m like, “Son of a bitch, this is gonna be a pain in the ass to get rid off, maybe I can turn it into an impromptu piece of furniture”

But, I have to admit, that just for a second, I revert back to my 5 year old self just before I realize trash day was yesterday.

So, now I’m curious, what would you want to rub in the face of your younger self? Because lets face it, that little bugger probably won’t hold back that it has absolutely zero responsibility.

20 Responses to “Imagine That”

  1. free penny press

    Hey look at the young boy Caine.. built himself an arcade from boxes now he’s got **ka-ching $$ for college**….i was a collector of bottle caps (yes, they had those then) and fancied myself making great art that would hang in the Met one day..

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      He has quite the drive and desire. And now the money. Bottle caps eh? Did you do arty stuff with them or just an avid collector?

      Like

      Reply
  2. Danielle

    When I was little my sister and I used to make cars out of cardboard boxes. We would cut holes for our legs in the bottom to move the vehicle Flintstone-style. Then we’d draw headlights on the front, use paper plates for a steering wheel and we’d tape belts to it to be used as seatbelts and then we’d proceed to walk around the house in our cardboard boxes until they fell apart. Eventually we also added squares of cardboard and wrap them in tin foil and tape them to the sides as side-view mirrors (we wasted, I mean used, a LOT of tape making these cars). Thanks for reminding me of it :)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Svelte

    Corrugated heaven! I don’t think that anything else has inspired as much fun as a cardboard box! Back in the day (lol), instead of grocery bags, our groceries came in a nice and sturdy box. Which. often got turned into a wagon for pulling my siblings around the house. To date, any modern type toy/gadget gets passed up for a box… (Tradition has been proudly handed down and keenly accepted! LOL)

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nicolle

    Cleaning and doing laundry? Who needs that when your inspiration leads to wonderful posts for us to read :-)

    What’s always fun is to watch cats play with boxes. The minute a box is empty or even just sitting there, they’re all over it. My mom’s cats like to play with the tape too.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I think it’s safe to say cleaning and laundry currently takes a bake seat to inspiration. And I agree, cats love empty boxes. I wonder what they’re thinking about when they see a box. Probably something along the lines of “Cat Fort!”

      Like

      Reply
    • timmer

      Whoa. Box house to the extreme. I definitely recognized that group. I did a little Youtube searching and realized I’d seen the vid where they all play a single guitar. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

      Reply
  5. CubicleViews

    i’d tell myself that I’m going to be a balding middle-aged guy sitting in a cubicle some day.
    Although, then I’d be depressed in the past and the current.

    On second thought, I’d tell myself to keep going to college and get as many degrees as humanly possible, because school life is way better than work life.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I would tell myself “GO TO A DAMN COLLEGE WITH NICE WEATHER AND NONE OF THIS COLD CRAP, OH, AND MAJOR IN SOMETHING THAT DOESN’T REQUIRE YOU TO LIVE IN THE LIBRARY,” Looks like that would actually be more of me yelling at myself instead of “telling”.

      Like

      Reply

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

