*Blog Note: Nate is one of my good friends in real life that actually knows I have a blog and follows along with it. To add a more interesting dynamic to the dialogue within Second Lunch, he’s vehemently denied graciously allowed me to illustrate / cartoonize him into the site as a supporting character. I just think it’ll be better for the blog if that character is modeled after someone I know in real life. So, say hi to Nate!

And that’s how we accidentally created a dubstep song when we were actually trying to cover an absolutely timeless song…”Linger” by The Cranberries…

Anyway, I WANT TO KNOW, do people you know in real life know you have a blog? Or are you the completely anonymous type of blogger? 

31 Responses to “Three’s Company”

  1. aj2015

    A few friends and family know that I blog and follow it, but otherwise, I keep my identity to myself. Last time I had a blog, I disclosed my name and all that fun stuff, and before I knew it my university had found my blog and decided to monitor it. Definitely not fun.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      That’s interesting that your university found your blog and decided it was worth monitoring. Very creepy.

      Like

      Reply
      • aj2015

        Yeah, I think I made a passing comment about my school and they jumped on it and decided to make sure I was giving them good PR or whatever. It was definitely a little too Big Brother for me.

        Like

  2. free penny press

    Ah, most people that know me are aware I blog..not many have the link though..i don’t post what I would not want the Big-Boss to see so it’s cool..

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Right? I try and just entertain people with my posts or get to them to laugh. I guess I don’t really have a traditional “personal” blog

      Like

      Reply
  3. maudlin

    I throw some of my blogs onto Facebook because I want more page views (I’m shameless), but I always feel awkward when I do that. Twitter is safer because I have less followers, only good friends and family. My father promotes the shit out of my blogs. Basically, it wouldn’t be hard for everyone to find out I blog, but I’m not super explicit about it.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I’m definitely more open with promoting my blog to people I know on the interent as opposed to telling my friends or friends of friends through something like Facebook. But it’s not like I’m on lockdown. If a friend I know in real life discovers it, I’m not really concerned since my posts revolve around crude illustrations, haha.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Danielle

    Some family and friends I know in real life know I have a blog, only a couple follow, that I know of.

    Love your blog!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      No matter the audience it’s always reassuring knowing people are taking the time to read! I remember having a couple other small blogs before Second Lunch that I could count the readers on two fingers! But I learned a lot, found my focus, and applied it to this site. Keep with it and it will grow!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Nicolle

    I’m pretty open about the fact that I blog and even have a FB page set up for it. Usually, when I tell people what I blog about, they’re like “that’s cool”, but then I get the impression they don’t bother to visit.

    I get more visits from people active in the blogging world.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Yeah, I feel the same. I’m not how sure how receptive people I know in real life would be about my blog. I’m much more interested in building/networking with people active in the blogging world.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Rocket

    Borg! bahaha.

    Most of my closest friends know that I blog, what they have to say about that: “oh”. I am also semi-anonymous, since I don’t release my name in my blog, and I have no idea why I am anymore to be honest. I probably just love pseudonyms.

    I also fantasize about starting my own band, can I join your animated blog one?! :D I call bass!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Ab. So. Lutely. I thought I was gonna have to pull double duty on my “Borg” and a bass guitar. We just need a name and we’ll give the Gorillaz a run for their money.

      Like

      Reply
  7. postmoderngirls;

    Look at that fucking hipster lovin’ the accidental dubstep. Wait until they claim Ernesto and he becomes a hipster icon… and then they cast him off like a poor purple blob.

    I recently ‘came out’ about my blog- when I went self-hosted- after years of trying to keep things separate. I realised I didn’t care if people read it- and very few people ‘in real life’ do read it. Explains my terrible blog stats- ha!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Oh, god. I never thought about them stealing Ernesto. I should write a post fighting off the Hipster Apocalypse from stealing Ernesto.

      And I really really like your blog and writing style. It’s like a nice little surprise when I see a new post in my reader!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Fiona @ lifelyricslemoncake

    Haha. Ernesto is so cool. I think you’d get famous no matter how bad you’s sounded.

    Hmm, i think mostly only people I know read my blog. I started it for a about 3 months and then put the link on twitter and facebook. It’s basically about 5 friends and family, I think. Haha. I kind of wish I was all anonymous, now. None of my friends really have blogs. I was really inspired by writers who built up a blog/ reader following before they ever got a book deal.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      I think it can be hard to with the content knowing actual readers in real life (trying not to piss people off too much) Luckily my blog is incredibly laid back, often dabbling on absurd, (Ernesto being a prime example) that I’m not worried about people I know coming across it. I wish I knew a couple in real life people that blogged though. I always feel a little awkward talking to friends about it if they aren’t to familiar with the blogging world.

      Like

      Reply
  9. littleredribbon

    I generally promote my blog via facebook and sometimes I get views from the comments I post on other blogs; ie. yours because it’s the only one I bother commenting on. I don’t really mind who reads my blog, but the password protected posts are a bit of a deterrent. Plus, only those that actually know me would be interested in following it considering it’s overly personal nature.

    On another note, your cute little illustrations never cease to bring a smile to my face. You are an underrated genius!

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      Nice. I’m always interested in how and how much people share on their own blogs. Thanks for the compliment as well! I like to keep things simple with my illustrations *cough* partly because I’m not great at drawing/illustrating *cough*

      Like

      Reply
  10. Svelte

    Oooh, dubstep is right up my alley! :) I could bump this choon on the loud too… Needs a bit more wobble though! Haha…

    Not only do my ‘peeps’ know that I have a blog (since 05), they’re fully aware that they can’t get anywhere near it!!!
    FB is where I allow them to roam free range! Lol…

    Like

    Reply
  11. schumi23

    I’ve been trying to connect my blog to my name (In fact, a google of my name has in the top 6 results the blog) – and I try to get people I know over the internets to go to it.
    However, to friends and family (And facebook, and I don’t twitter) I keep mum about it – maybe mentioning it, but never more then that…
    I don’t know why. I just don’t want them to read it… (Though, that might change, I am still deciding which direction to make it in.)

    Like

    Reply

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

