Sometimes I see a nature show on the Discovery Channel, or even a really awe-inspiring National Geographic desktop background on a co-workers computer, and then I’m all like “I need to get all up in Mother Natures business this weekend”

Luckily, I live in New England, so there is no shortage of forests or mountains that I am aware of. Unfortunately, I am terrible at things like forests and/or mountains. Here’s a question, what has two thumbs and thinks playing Oregon Trail counts as “camping”? This guy!

And no amount of rugged wind-proof fleece jackets or indestructible water bottles can hide that truth.

 

Aside from masking my lack of outdoors know-how with overpriced apparel, I possess the inability to properly pack anything for a hike.

 

If at any point I feel lost on my outdoor adventure, I will assume I actually am lost and will resort to survival tactics that I’ve picked up from watching countless hours of television and movies.

 

 

 

 

In spite of being woefully inept at  anything outdoorsy, I still enjoy fresh air and the scenic views from a summit. What about you guys? Skilled outdoorsmen/women or novice adventurer? Are you reading this from atop a mountain now? Because that would be super neat.

6 Responses to “Nature: like television, but realer”

  1. postmoderngirls;

    Not atop a mountain, but maybe next time I can catch 3G on a mountain?

    I like the outdoors, but as you know- I live in Manila and that’s not exactly accessible. When I’m at the gym though, I push myself to run an extra kilometer or cycle a little bit harder… just so I know I can survive if I were thrown into some hardcore survival themed post-apocalypse world. That or have a chance at winning Amazing Race.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmero

      My workout routine revolves mostly around being able to outrun anything in a post-apocalyptic world

      Like

      Reply
  2. Rocket

    I think my sense of adventure stays within daydreaming limits. Nature shows only get me pumped up till I open my door and feel a cold breeze: “Eh, maybe some other time”.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmero

      at least you won’t succumb to dysentery, unless of course, you’re playing Oregon Trail.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nicolle

    Well, I’m reading this atop the circular mountain that is my couch and I had the balcony door open earlier. Does that count?

    But, generally I do like the outdoors, although living in Philly and not having a car kind of gets in the way of that. I would same I’m intermediate when it comes to outdoors. I did used to be a Girl Scout, so I did camp at one time, but I’m not really inclined to do so now…. My favorite outdoor activities are snowboarding, zip lining, paintball…all situational of course.

    Like

    Reply
    • timmer

      ooooh, I’ve always wanted to try paintball! …and snowboarding …I guess I don’t really get outdoors much.

      Like

      Reply

What should we talk about?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

